The Graduate Research Fellowship Program from the National Science Foundation (NSF GRFP) is a prestigious award for young researchers at the beginning of their careers. Recipients recieve a stipend and additional cost of education allowance, paid to the institution. 

The GRFP has a long history of selecting recipients who achieve high levels of success in their future academic and professional careers. The reputation of the GRFP follows recipients and often helps them become life-long leaders that contribute significantly to both scientific innovation and teaching.

Click here for the program solicitation.


To be eligible for the NSF GRFP, you must:

  • be a US citizen, US national, or permanent resident
  • intend to pursue a research-based Master's or Ph.D. program in a GRFP-supported field
  • be enrolled in an eligible program at an accredited United States graduate institution, with a US campus, by fall following selection
  • be at an early stage in your graduate career
  • have completed no more than one academic year of full-time graduate study (or the equivalent)
  • Graduate students are limited to only one application to the GRFP, submitted either in the first year or in the second year of graduate school

NSF GRFP Workshop Series

Guarini supports eligible graduate student applicants through a series of workshops tailored to writing a successful NSF GRF proposal.

Previous workshops covered writing your personal statement, discovering broader impacts, and writing your research plan. The workshop series is in four parts and attendees are encouraged to present their proposal drafts for workshopping. Details of the 2023 workshop series will be posted soon.

Past Recipients

Rayna Rampalli, Physics and Astronomy

Katherine Lutz, Earth Sciences
Michael May, Engineering
Alexis Kidder, Psychological and Brain Sciences

Ayobami Ogunmolasuyi, Engineering
Clara Sava-Segal, Pyschological and Brain Sciences
Emily Morris, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Luke Fannin, EEES
Andrew Hamlin, Engineering
Samuel Lensgraf, Computer Science
Christopher Callahan, EEES

Natasha Mariano, Molecular and Cellular Biology
Charles Carver, Computer Science
Ciara Kernan, EEES
Nicholas Curtis, Engineering