Graduate School Council

About the GSC

Learn more about the Graduate Student Council and how to get involved. The GSC website lists other student organizations, a social event calendar, and links to further resources for the graduate community on and off campus.

Faculty Mentoring Award

The Faculty Mentoring Award will be awarded annually to a member of the Dartmouth faculty who exemplifies a deep commitment to fostering the professional and personal development of graduate students. Successful recipients may have contributed to graduate student development by advising graduate level research and promoting successful transition from the graduate studies to post-doctoral work, faculty positions, or other employment.

Three members of the Graduate Student Council will select the recipient with the Assistant Dean of Graduate Student Affairs and Graduate Dean serving as ex officio members. Graduate students and recent graduate alumni (no more than three years out) may make nominations in the form of a letter of nomination. Letters from multiple sources (i.e. multiple students and alumni) are strongly encouraged. However, each graduate student or alumni may only nominate one person for the award. Faculty in the Dartmouth Arts & Sciences Master's and Doctoral programs are eligible for the award.

Nomination letters must be submitted to the Guarini School of Graduate and Advanced Studies, 64 College Street, Suite 6062, Room 102
Hanover, NH  03755 (to the attention of Kerry Landers) no later than March 8. Or e-mail your nomination letter to Each nominee will then be asked directly by the Graduate School to submit a curriculum vita.

The recipient(s) of the award will receive $500 to be used for further mentoring activities.

The 2022 recipients of the Faculty Mentoring Award are:

Todd Miller (Cancer Biology)
Katherine Nautiyal (Psychological & Brain Sciences)

Previous Winners

2021: Yuliya Komska (Comparative Literature) 
           Ryan Hickox (Physics & Astronomy)

2020: Brock Christensen (Program in Experimental and Molecular Medicine & Quantitative Biomedical Sciences)
          Dan Rockmore (Mathematics & Computer Science)

2019: (joint) George Dunlap and Jennifer Loros (Molecular and Cellular Biology, Molecular and Systems Biology)
          M. Ida Gobbini (Psychological and Brain Sciences)

2018: David Bucci (Psychological and Brain Sciences)
          Erich Osterberg (Earth Sciences)

2017: David Glueck (Chemistry)
          Yolanda Sanchez (Molecular and Systems Biology)

2016: Margie Ackerman (Thayer School of Engineering)
          Ryan Halter (Thayer School of Engineering)

2015: Deborah Hogan (Microbiology/Immunology at Geisel)
          David Kotz (Computer Science)

2014: Amy Gladfelter (Biological Sciences) and Rebecca Irwin (Biological Sciences and the Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)

2013: Kathryn Cottingham (Biology) and Robert Hawley (Earth Sciences)

2012: Dean Madden (Biochemistry) and Thalia Wheatley (Psychological and Brain Sciences)

2011: Joe Belbruno (Chemistry) and Gregory Holmes (Neurology and Pediatrics)

2010: James Gorham (Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology) and Melissa Zeiger (English)

2009: Mary Lou Guerinot (Biological Sciences) and David Bucci (Psychological and Brain Sciences)

2008: Yale Cohen (Psychological and Brain Sciences) and George O'Toole (Molecular and Cellular Biology)

2007: Randolph Noelle (Microbiology) and Duane Compton (Biochemistry)

2006: Brian Pogue (Thayer School of Engineering) and Gordon Gribble (Chemistry)

2005: Dorothy Wallace (Mathematics), Ross Virginia (Environmental Studies), and Ann Clark (PBS)

2004: Joyce Deleo (Pharmacology/Toxicology), Matt Ayres (Biology), and George Cybenko (Engineering)

Waiver Form

Waiver for participation in Graduate Student Council activities.

Student Organization Policies

Group Accountability Statement

  • Recognized student organizations carry with them an obligation on the part of their members, collectively, to uphold the Dartmouth Community Standards of Conduct.

Fundraising by Student Organizations

  • The College understands there may be situations where student organizations have needs that are greater than can be met by the usual on-campus funding sources. In these cases, student organizations are permitted to raise funds under these guidelines. 

Use of Dartmouth Facilities

  • Regulations for the use of Dartmouth classrooms and other facilities.

Excessive Noise

  • Noise which interferes with classes, College offices, and other campus and community activities is prohibited. 

Use of College Facilities for Business Purposes

  • Students and student organizations are responsible for knowing and complying with all regulations established by the College with regard to student business ventures. 

Use of Dartmouth College Trade Names and Trade Marks

  • The College is the owner of certain trade names and trademarks.