Teaching Award

The Teaching Award will be awarded annually to the graduate teaching assistant who best exemplifies the qualities of a college educator.

Excellence in Teaching

The individual should combine personal qualities of dedication and commitment to teaching, with innovation, creativity, preparedness and efficiency in the classroom. The award is designed to reward students for their activities as teaching assistants in undergraduate courses at Dartmouth College or on Dartmouth College Foreign Study Programs. Instruction activities may take place in laboratories, discussion groups, or other similar forums.

Nomination Process

The recipient will be selected by the School of Graduate and Advanced Studies in conjunction with faculty reviewers. Each program or department can nominate one student each year. The nomination should include a letter of support explaining the student's contributions and experience. Students may be nominated for activities as teaching assistants in more than one course and may be nominated more than one time.

All nominations from the graduate programs must be submitted to the School of Graduate and Advanced Studies office (Kerry Landers) no later than May 7.

The winner of the award will be announced at the Graduate Studies Graduation Reception in June and winners will receive a cash prize of $1000.

We ask that each department send in only one nomination. Your nomination should include:

  1. A letter of recommendation
  2. A copy of the student's curriculum vita or resume
  3. A copy of the students teaching statement

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Kerry Landers in the School of Graduate and Advanced Studies, 37 Dewey Field Road, Suite 6062, Room 437.

Award Winners


  • Daryl Deford: Mathematics
  • Michael Stevenson: Chemistry


  • Anna Prescott: Psychological and Brain Sciences


  • Molly Carpenter: Chemistry
  • Olivia Kang: Psychological and Brain Sciences
  • Justin Richardson: Earth Sciences


  • Philip Fernandes: Physics & Astronomy
  • Justin Lopchuk: Chemistry
  • Travis Peters: Computer Science


  • Samuel Fey: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Katherine Kinnaird: Mathematics
  • Nicholas Tito: Chemistry


  • Patricia Cahn: Math
  • April Diagle: Chemistry
  • Morgan Thompson: Biochemistry



  • Jennifer Taylor: Chemistry
  • Zak Gezon: Biological Sciences
  • Paige Rinker: Mathematics


  • Timothy Chapp: Chemistry
  • David Sicilia: Physics & Astronomy
  • Sarah Wright: Mathematics


  • Colette Quinn: Chemistry
  • Sara Walker: Physics & Astronomy
  • Elizabeth Wolkovich: Biology


  • Cynthia Chen: Earth Sciences
  • Allison Henrich: Mathematics
  • Erik Stange: Biology


  • Laura Burkle: Biology
  • Rachel Esselstein: Mathematics
  • Daniel Milisavlijevic: Physics & Astronomy


  • Timothy Gilheart: Physics & Astronomy
  • Dominic Klyve: Mathematics
  • William O’Neal: Chemistry


  • Krum Chuchev: Chemistry
  • James Kellner: Biology
  • Lee Stemkoski: Mathematics


  • Marian Berryhill: Psychological & Brain Sciences
  • Nathan Ryan: Mathematics
  • Yinghua Shen: Chemistry


  • Barry Balof: Mathematics
  • William Roberts: Chemistry
  • Matthew Wargo: Biology


  • Michael Fromberger: Computer Science
  • Jill Moncarz: Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Stanhope: Mathematics